Upcoming Games

No games to display

Full list
Add a game

Upcoming Events

No events to display

I'm having difficulties understanding Swindon

You are here: Home > Forum > Simulations > Released > Swindon A and B > I'm having difficulties understanding Swindon

Page 1 of 1

I'm having difficulties understanding Swindon 22/02/2012 at 06:08 #29782
maxand
1637 posts
This is my first try at using ARS, so hope you don't mind some more questions and observations. I finally got the hang of basic ARS but still many things not mentioned in the Wiki section or in the Swindon manual.

What are all the green slots in Swindon used for? The manual doesn't mention them.

Why do all ARS codes start with L and not, for example, A?

How do I know where an ARS area begins and ends for a particular line? The only way I can tell that ARS has "caught" a train is when a route magically appears ahead of it.

Is there any way to tell ahead of time when ARS will conk out if it can't complete setting a route, e.g., when another train (also ARS) is temporarily blocking the route? Right now I seem to have to wait till F2 tells me XXXX is waiting at a red signal, which wastes time.

If ARS is so helpful, when might I need to disable it as opposed to simply setting the next route segment manually?

"You need to request permission to send trains to Didcot Power Station." How do I do this, please? No slot there. Unfortunately, not enough explanation here.

jc92's post in this category talks about BLOKs. Thanks to the WembleySub manual, I now have an inkling of what BLOKs are all about. Before that I imagined that a BLOK was a really capital bloke, just like all you guys. However, I can't see why anyone might want to interpose a BLOK when SimSig creates its fair share of them and more.