Another newbie question

You are here: Home > Forum > General > Newcomers > Another newbie question

Page 1 of 1

Another newbie question 14/11/2019 at 16:15 #121635
Brytenwalda
Avatar
8 posts
If I understand correctly, some maps like Kings Cross are large enough to be operated by several controllers in real life. Are they feasible to play in single player? Can I play just one station, with trains only spawning/transferring to my control after they enter my area?
Log in to reply
Another newbie question 14/11/2019 at 16:27 #121636
lazzer
Avatar
449 posts
I often play large sims like Kings Cross and Edinburgh single player, and often using "old" timetables requiring lots of loco movements. I can just about keep on top of it (although Kings Cross 1977 eventually defeats me in the morning rush hour), but I put that down to years of playing experience and knowing the layout like the back of my hand. So it can definitely be done when you have worked out what's going on, usually by playing it over and over until you stop making mistakes!

As for playing "just one station", if you're in a sim with ARS then you certainly can - it's what I do when I play the Victoria sims. I'll let the computer work out the chaos at suburban junctions while I control Victoria station and the approaches. Sims without ARS will, unfortunately, require all of your attention unless you pay them in multiplayer.

Log in to reply
Another newbie question 14/11/2019 at 16:28 #121637
Hap
Avatar
294 posts
No. If you were playing on the King Cross sim solo, then you would be in control of all 5 panels and all trains within the timetable that you are running.

Hap

HAP
Log in to reply
Another newbie question 14/11/2019 at 22:39 #121651
Edgemaster
Avatar
251 posts
There's also the option of slowing the clock down to half-speed, which can help with some of the more hectic points in the timetables.
Log in to reply