Upcoming Games


Full list
Add a game

Newbie Issues With routes and signalling

You are here: Home > Forum > General > Newcomers > Newbie Issues With routes and signalling

Page 1 of 1

Newbie Issues With routes and signalling 26/01/2020 at 15:11 #123067
matmid10
Avatar
1 posts
Right I am trying to send 5H41 to Plat. 2. I have tried everyway and I just cant get a route to send it. any help please?


Post has attachments. Log in to view them.
Log in to reply
Newbie Issues With routes and signalling 26/01/2020 at 15:19 #123068
Albert
Avatar
654 posts
You should first click the signal next to 5F41 and then the triangle at the end of the platform track (next to the '2').
AJP in games
Log in to reply
The following user said thank you: TUT
Newbie Issues With routes and signalling 26/01/2020 at 17:15 #123069
TUT
Avatar
214 posts
Online
So the principle of routesetting SimSig uses is that you route a train from signal to signal. So you need to click on the signal you want to route from and then next you click on the signal you want to route to.

So the first thing is you must set the route from the signal 5H41 is standing at, the one it's right next to. I'm not too sure why you've set the route from that signal on the up fast that is white - probably the result of your experiments, but there's no train at or approaching that signal, so you don't want to clear that signal here.

No as Albert says you have to set the route from the signal that applies to the line your train is travelling on.

Then, as Albert says, click on the exit arrow in platform 2, the little triangle next to the number 2.

The little shunt signals, the quarter circle signals in between are preset or running shunt signals.

Do not try to clear them yourself. Do not route to or from them. Act like they aren't there and route from the main signal to platform 2. They will then clear by themselves before the main aspect clears. They are used for shunt movements between platforms and were more important in the days of locomotive-hauled trains. When routing arriving trains into the platforms you should essentially jump over them. They will clear themselves.

Log in to reply
Newbie Issues With routes and signalling 26/01/2020 at 19:59 #123070
postal
Avatar
4000 posts
matmid10 in post 123067 said:
Right I am trying to send 5H41 to Plat. 2. I have tried everyway and I just cant get a route to send it. any help please?
Have you looked at the SimSig wiki (available here)? That includes a group of pages about signalling and routesetting which may answer a lot of the questions you are likely to face as you continue with the sim.

"No question is too stupid, there are just some stupid answers" - Dr. Michael Reece, 12/08/1927 - 03/06/2019. Electrical engineer and inventor
Last edited: 26/01/2020 at 19:59 by postal
Reason: None given

Log in to reply
The following user said thank you: TUT