Certain main and warner routes can be made to work automatically. Signals with such a facility have a blue 'A' symbol adjacent to the head. Automatic working is only available for the most commonly used routes by trains.
To set automatic working for a route, first set the route in the usual way. Then, left click on the 'A' button to set automatic working. The hollow blue circle will be replaced by a filled blue circle, and the route will remain, and the signal re-clear, after each train passes.
Automatic working will be cancelled if the route is cancelled manually. To cancel automatic working without cancelling the route, right-click on the 'A' button. The filled blue circle will be replaced by a hollow blue circle, and the route will not be re-set after the next train passes.
Western Region E10K interlocking handles auto working buttons differently to other interlocking types. The auto working buttons themselves are a turn switch with two positions, "AUTO" (Auto working on) or "MANUAL" (Auto working off). If you cancel the signal, the auto function will remain unless cancelled separately. Not all routes from a signal with automatic working will work automatically even if the group auto function is active. In these instances the signal will TORR if enabled, or if not enabled you will need to cancel the route manually.
Some of the auto working buttons apply to more than one signal on the same line.
There are also situations where a signal has an entry switch, but not an exit button. These are "one-click" routes, and will work automatically until cancelled. In some instances, these particular signals may not have route lights.
The auto working buttons have been accurately represented in Wales and Borders SimSig simulations. The button can be turned on at any time, even if no route is set from the signal(s) to which it applies, and can be turned off at any time in the same was as is true on the real panels.
Last edited by Steamer on 31/01/2019 at 17:12